Ram Nath Kovind elected President

Ram Nath Kovind elected President


BJP-led NDA nominee, the former Governor of Bihar, Ram Nath Kovind today won the election to the office of the President of India, defeating the opposition candidate and former Speaker of the Lok Sabha Meira Kumar by a huge margin of 3.34 lakh votes.

In the presidential election 2017, of the total 4,880 valid voters — 4,109 members of legislative Assemblies (MLAs) and 771 elected members of Parliament (MPs) — 99.49 per cent had cast their vote. Of the total 771 MPs who are entitled to vote, 768, or 99.61 per cent, cast their votes. Of the 4,109 MLAs entitled to vote, 4,083 or 99.37 per cent cast their votes, officials said.

Mr Kovind secured 2930 votes of the value of 7.02 lakh as against 3.67 lakh of Ms Kumar, Secretary General of the Lok Sabha, who is the returning officer for the Presidential poll, announced here today declaring Mr Kovind as elected. The NDA candidate got 65.65 percent of total vote share, as against Ms Kumar’s 34.35 percent.

The polls for the highest office of the country had been held on July 17. Mr Kovind would be the 14th President of the country. He will take over from the incumbent Mr Pranab Mukherjee on July 25.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.